Digital signage software, compared

Every vendor figure below was read from the vendor's own page on the date shown with it. Prices change; the source link is on every row. Where a page did not state something, the cell says so rather than guessing. Each product has its own page with the detail and with where it is the better choice.

At a glance

At a glanceScreenRollYodeckScreenCloudOptiSignsXiboScreenly
Free plan✓1 screen, every feature✓1 screen✕Trial only–3 screens, their logo shown–Trial; open-source core✕14-day trial
Pay monthly, no yearly contract✓Yes✓Yes✕Yearly prices✓Yes–Not stated✕Yearly
Every feature on every plan✓One plan✕Features vary by plan✕Features vary by plan✕Features vary by plan–Not stated✕Features vary by plan
Ad revenue built in, rates published✓Built in, 85% to you–Not stated–Not stated–Ads portal, on request–Listed, no details–Not stated
Unlimited users on every plan✓Yes✓Yes✓Yes✕Limited on lower plans–Not stated✕2 on Starter
Templates included✓92, free✓800+✓Yes✓Designer–Not stated–Not mentioned
Plays without internet✓7 days✓Up to 35 days–Media cached, no length stated✓Supported–Not stated✓Supported

One product at a time

ScreenRoll vs YodeckBasic $8, Premium $12, Enterprise $16 per screen per month. The page shows the same figures for monthly and annual billing. ScreenRoll vs ScreenCloudCore $20, Pro $30 per screen per month, billed annually. Monthly-billing prices are not shown on the pricing page. Enterprise: annual only, price on request. ScreenRoll vs OptiSignsStandard $10 ($9 annual), Pro $12.50 ($11.25), Pro Plus $15 ($13.50), Engage $30 ($27), Enterprise $45 ($40.50, minimum 25 screens) — per screen per month. ScreenRoll vs XiboCloud hosting "from £3.50 a month" per display on the Professional plan. Prices for the other plans were not on the pages we read; their 2019 price list is archived and we have not used it. ScreenRoll vs ScreenlyStarter $15 (up to 5 screens), Business $24 (from 5 screens), Enterprise $38 (from 25 screens) — per screen per month, all billed annually. No monthly price is shown.

Everyone on one table

ScreenRollYodeckScreenCloudOptiSignsXiboScreenly
Price per paid screen$12 per screen per month up to 9 screens, $10 for 10–29, $8 for 30–99; 100 and above by agreement. Billed monthly, in arrears, for the days a screen existed.Basic $8, Premium $12, Enterprise $16 per screen per month. The page shows the same figures for monthly and annual billing.Core $20, Pro $30 per screen per month, billed annually. Monthly-billing prices are not shown on the pricing page. Enterprise: annual only, price on request.Standard $10 ($9 annual), Pro $12.50 ($11.25), Pro Plus $15 ($13.50), Engage $30 ($27), Enterprise $45 ($40.50, minimum 25 screens) — per screen per month.Cloud hosting "from £3.50 a month" per display on the Professional plan. Prices for the other plans were not on the pages we read; their 2019 price list is archived and we have not used it.Starter $15 (up to 5 screens), Business $24 (from 5 screens), Enterprise $38 (from 25 screens) — per screen per month, all billed annually. No monthly price is shown.
Free planOne screen, free for ever. Every feature, no logo on the screen, no card.One screen, free for ever, no credit card; unlimited storage and users. Their page says the free plan includes "All Basic features", while its feature table lists items under Basic that are not listed under Free — read it before relying on either.A free trial. No free plan is stated.Up to 3 screens with 25 basic apps and 1 GB of storage, with the OptiSigns logo shown on the screens. Only OptiSigns devices, Windows, Linux and Raspberry Pi on the free plan. No credit card.A 14-day trial of the Professional plan with two players, no credit card. The Xibo CMS core is open source (AGPLv3) and can be self-hosted at no licence cost.A 14-day trial, no credit card. No free plan.
Plans and featuresOne plan: every feature on every screen, the free one included.Free, Basic, Premium, Enterprise and Enterprise+, with different features.Core, Pro and Enterprise, with different features.Free, Standard, Pro, Pro Plus, Engage and Enterprise, with different features.Not stated on the pages we read.Starter, Business and Enterprise, with different features.
CommitmentNone. One invoice a month; cancel any time.Monthly or annual. Annual plans include a free Yodeck Player, or $20–$70 off per screen if you bring your own device.Annual pricing is what the page shows. A player device is included on annual plans, or 17% off the first year if you bring your own.Monthly or annual; annual is about 10% lower.Not stated on the pages we read.Annual.
Player hardwareNone needed. A television's own browser at cms.screenroll.live/tv, or the free apps.Optional. A free player comes with annual plans.Included on annual plans; not required.Optional. OptiSigns sells its own players.None required: "any player — open source or commercial licences".Screenly sells its own players; "Screenly Anywhere" and its apps deploy screens without one.
Devices it runs onApps for Samsung Tizen, LG webOS, Android and Google TV, Windows 10/11 and 7/8, macOS and Linux; any other smart TV through its browser.Amazon Fire TV, Amazon Signage Stick, Android, BrightSign, LG webOS, Raspberry Pi 5, Samsung Tizen, web player, Windows, Yodeck hardware.Amazon Fire OS, ChromeOS, Windows 10/11, iPadOS, Samsung Tizen (SSSP 10 on Tizen 6.5+), BrightSign, Android, web player.Samsung Tizen, LG webOS Signage (commercial models), Fire TV, Roku, Apple TV, BrightSign, Android, Windows, Linux, Raspberry Pi, ChromeOS devices, macOS.Windows and Linux players: open source, "zero software licensing costs". Android, LG webOS and Samsung Tizen players are offered; their pricing page lists webOS and Tizen under commercial player software.Screenly Player hardware; Screenly Anywhere on Samsung Tizen, LG consumer TVs (browser), Android and Android TV, ChromeOS, the Amazon Signage Stick, and anything with a modern browser.
Offline playbackSeven days of cached playback — pictures, videos and HTML5 banners alike."At least one month, and up to 35 days."Uploaded media is cached and plays offline; YouTube, Vimeo, live news, links and similar apps do not. No general duration is published.Supported; duration not stated.Not stated on the pages we read."Content caching (offline playback)"; duration not stated.
Advertising incomeBuilt in and optional. ScreenRoll brings advertisers; you keep the gross and pay 15% (or $0.30 per 1,000 plays). Your own VAST tags: $0.15 per 1,000 plays. Payouts within 60 days, minimum $100.Not stated on the pricing page.Not stated.An "Ads Portal" is listed as an optional add-on; details are not on the pricing page.An "Advertising" solution is listed; details are not on the pricing page.Not stated.
Templates and design92 templates for 26 kinds of business, with photographs, and a design editor — included at no charge.800+ customizable templates from the Basic plan, and a drag-and-drop layout editor on every plan.Design templates and Quick Post on Core; lockable templates and custom fonts on Pro and Enterprise.A Designer and templates on the paid plans; free templates on the free plan.Not stated on the pages we read.Not mentioned on the pricing page.
UsersUnlimited, with per-page permissions and two-step sign-in.Unlimited users in an account.Unlimited; custom permissions on Enterprise.Up to 3 on the free plan; limited on the lower paid plans; unlimited from Pro Plus.Not stated on the pages we read.2 on Starter; unlimited on Business and Enterprise.
Storage250 MB on the free plan; 2 GB per screen from two screens, the free one included.Unlimited (stated for the free plan).Not stated on the pricing page.1 GB on the free plan; paid plans: see their page.Not stated.Not stated on the pricing page.

ScreenRoll's figures are its published terms.

Sources for Yodeck: pricing — read on 2026-09-30. Prices change; the links are the record.

Sources for ScreenCloud: pricing, devices, offline — read on 2026-09-30. Prices change; the links are the record.

Sources for OptiSigns: pricing, devices — read on 2026-09-30. Prices change; the links are the record.

Sources for Xibo: pricing, hosting, trial, open source — read on 2026-09-08. Prices change; the links are the record.

Sources for Screenly: pricing, anywhere — read on 2026-09-30. Prices change; the links are the record.

The quickest comparison is a screen.The first one is free, for as long as you like, with every feature. No card. Or let us show you, on a call.